Directory of Officers, Executive Board Members, Committees and Committee Members

Note: Duties of each Committee are detailed in the Manual of Operating Procedures, which is posted on the SWSS web site at http://www.swss.ws

100. SOUTHERN WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE BOARD

100a. OFFICERS

President	Todd Baughman	2025
President Elect	Eric Palmer	2025
Vice-President	Shawn Askew	2025
Secretary-Treasurer	Hunter Perry	2023-2025
Editor (Proceedings)	Paul Tseng	2023-2025
Immediate Past President	Eric Castner	2025

100b. ADDITIONAL EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS

Member-at-Large – Academia	Charlie Cahoon	2023-2025
Member-at-Large- Industry	Adam Hixson	2023-2025
Member-at-Large – Academia	David Russell	2024-2026
Member-at-Large- Industry	Matthew Wiggins	2024-2026
Representative to WSSA	Pete Dotray	2023-2025

100c. EX-OFFICIO BOARD MEMBERS

Constitution and Operating Procedures	Carroll Johnson	2024-2026
SWSS Business Manager	Kelley Mazur	2021-2025
Student Representative	Navdeep Godara	2024-2025
Director of Communications	Justin Calhoun	2024-2026

101. SWSS ENDOWMENT FOUNDATION

101a. BOARD OF TRUSTEES - ELECTED

President	Jason Bond	2020-2025
Secretary	Sandeep Rana	2021-2026
	Lauren Lazaro	2022-2027
	Lawson Priess	2023-2028
	Connor Webster	2024-2029
Graduate Student Rep	Tristen Avent	2024-2025

101b. BOARD OF TRUSTEES - EX-OFFICIO

Greg McDonald	Past President of Endowment Foundation Board of Trustees
Kelley Mazur	SWSS Business Manager

102. <u>AWARDS COMMITTEE PARENT (STANDING)</u> - The Parent Awards Committee shall consist of the immediate Past President as Chairperson and each Chair of the Award Subcommittees.

Eric Castner*	2025	Larry Steckel	2025	John Brewer	2025
Eric Prostko	2025	Sandeep Rana	2025	Joey Williams	2025

The Awards Subcommittees shall consist of six members including the Chair, serving staggered threeyear terms with two rotating off each year.

102a. SWSS Fellow Award Subcommittee

Eric Prostko*	2025	Gary Schwarzlose	2026	Jason Norsworthy	2027
Peter Dotray	2025	Larry Steckel	2026	Nilda Burgos	2027

102b. Outstanding Educator Award Subcommittee

Larry Steckel*	2025	Darrin Dodds	2026	Tom Barber	2027
Tim Grey	2025	Ramon Leon	2026	Jason Bond	2027

102c. Outstanding Young Weed Scientist Award Subcommittee

Sandeep Rana*	2025	Charlie Cahoon	2026	Pete Eure	2027
Jim Brosnan	2025	Scott Nolte	2026	Chris Leon	2027

102d. Outstanding Graduate Student Award Subcommittee

John Brewer*	2025	Nic Basinger	2026	Zachary Treadway	2027
John Buol	2025	Luis Avila	2026	Jenny Dudak	2027

102e. Excellence in Regulatory Stewardship Award Subcommittee

Joey Williams	2025	Matt Goddard	2026	Garrett Montgomery	2027
Frances Meeks	2025	Dan Reynolds	2026	Tom Mueller	2027

103. COMPUTER APPLICATION COMMITTEE (STANDING)

Sarah Kezar*	2025	Gary Schwarzlose	2026	Muthu Bagavathiannan	2027
Shawn Askew	2025	Hannah Wright-Smith	2026	Justin Calhoun	2027
Kelley Mazur – SWSS Business Manager					

104. CONSTITUTION AND OPERATING PROCEDURES COMMITTEE (STANDING)

W. Carroll Johnson* 2024-2026

105. FINANCE COMMITTEE (STANDING) - Shall consist of the Vice President as Chair and President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, Chair of Sustaining Membership Committee, and others as the President so chooses, with the Editor serving as ex-officio member.

Shawn Askew* (VP)	2025
Eric Palmer (Pres. Elect)	2025
Hunter Perry (Sec-Treas.)	2025
Tim Adcock (Sustaining Mem.)	2025
Gary Schwarzlose	2025
Darrin Dodds	2025
Paul Tseng (ex-officio)	2025
Kelley Mazur – SWSS Business Manager	

106. GRADUATE STUDENT ORGANIZATION

President	Navdeep Godara	2025
Vice President	Megan Mills-Singletary	2025
Secretary	Tanner King	2025
Weed Resistance & Technology Comm. Rep	Hannah Lindell	2025
Endowment Committee	Tristen Avent	2025
Social Chair/Student Program Committee	Sarah Chu	2025
Student Program Committee	Sydney Baker	2025

107. WEED RESISTANCE AND TECHNOLOGY STEWARDSHIP (STANDING)

Alabama	Steven Li	North Carolina	Charlie Cahoon
Arkansas	Jason Norsworthy	Oklahoma	Liberty Gavin
Florida	Gre MacDonald	South Carolina	Matthew Cutulle
Georgia	Eric Prostko	Tennessee	Larry Steckel
Kentucky	Travis Legleiter	Texas	Pete Dotray
Louisiana	Daniel Stephenson	Virginia	Michael Flessner*
Mississippi	Luis Avila	Puerto Rico	Wilfredo Robles
Missouri	Justin Calhoun	Grad. Student Rep	Hannah Lindell

109. LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY COMMITTEE (STANDING)

Shawn Askew*	Chair & Vice-President	2025
Lee Van Wychen	(ad hoc) WSSA Science Policy Executive Director	2025
Janice MacFarland	(ad hoc) Chair of the WSSA Science Policy Comm.	2025
Mark VanGessel	(ad hoc), EPA liaison	2025
Charlie Cahoon	Member-at-Large - Academia	2025
Adam Hixson	Member-at-Large - Industry	2025
David Russell	Member-at-Large - Academia	2026
Matthew Wiggins	Member-at-Large - Industry	2026

110. LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS COMMITTEE - (STANDING)

Matthew Cutelle*	2025	Charleston, SC
Larry Steckel	2026	Nashville, TN
TBD	2026	TBD

111. LONG-RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE (STANDING) – Shall consist of the Past-Past President (chair), Past-President, President, and President-Elect.

Darrin Dodds (Chair-Elect) *		
Eric Castner	2026	
Todd Baughman	2027	
Eric Palmer	2028	

112. MEETING SITE SELECTION COMMITTEE (STANDING) - Shall consist of six members and the SWSS Business Manager. The members will be appointed by the President on a rotating basis with one member appointed each year and members shall serve six-year terms. The Chairmanship will rotate to the senior committee member from the geographical area where the meeting will be held.

Ben McKnight* (SW)	2025	Michael Flessner (SE)	2027	Darrin Dodds (MS)	2029
Stanley Culpepper (SE)	2026	Kelly Backscheider (TN)	2028	Eric Castner (OK)	2030
Kelley Mazur – SWSS Bu	siness				

113. NOMINATING COMMITTEE (STANDING) - Shall be composed of the Past President as Chair.

Eric Castner* 2024

114. PROGRAM COMMITTEE – 2024 MEETING (STANDING)

Eric Palmer*	2025
Shawn Askew	2026
TBD	2027

117. RESOLUTIONS AND NECROLOGY COMMITTEE (STANDING)

Joey Williams*	2025	David Russell	2026	Ryan Edwards	2027
----------------	------	---------------	------	--------------	------

118. SOUTHERN WEED CONTEST COMMITTEE (STANDING) open to all SWSS members

Mississippi	T. Bararpour	Missouri	J. Calhoun
Alabama	S. Li	North Carolina	W. Everman
Arkansas	H. Wright Smith* N. Burgos	Oklahoma	L. Gavin
Florida	G. MacDonald	South Carolina	M. Cutulle
Georgia	N. Basinger	Tennessee	T. Mueller
Kentucky	T. Legleiter	Texas	P. Dotray
Louisiana	C. Webster	Virginia	S. Askew
Ad Hoc - Current	B. Kirksey	Puerto Rico	W. Robles

119. STUDENT PROGRAM COMMITTEE (STANDING)

Hannah Wright-Smith*	2025	
Lawson Priess	2026	
Taylor Randell-	2027	
Singleton		
Sydney Baker	2025	Graduate Student Organization Rep. – Ex-officio member

120. SUSTAINING MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE (STANDING)

Kelly Backsheider*	2025	Eric Castner	2026	Greg Steele	2027
Ray Kelley	2025	Joey Williams	2026	Ryan Edwards	2027
James Holloway	2025	Cletus Youmans	2026	Pete Eure	2027

121. CONTINUING EDUCATION UNITS COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

AL - Steve Li	2025	MO – Justin Calhoun	2025
AR - Tom Barber	2025	NC – Charlie Cahoon	2025
FL - Calvin Odero	2025	OK – Swati Shrestha**	2025
GA – Nic Basinger	2025	SC - Alan Estes	2025
KY – Travis Legleiter	2025	TN – Bruce Kirksey*	2025
LA – Daniel Stephenson	2025	TX - Jacob Reed	2025
MS -Te-Ming Paul Tseng	2025	VA – Shawn Askew**	2025

*Chair

**CEU's not provided by that state